Fiona Apple ‎– The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than The Driver Of The Screw And Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do

Clean Slate ‎– 19075939571, Epic ‎– 19075939571
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, 180g

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Every Single Night
A2 Daredevil
Performer [Thighs] – Feedy, Seedy (2)
A3 Valentine
A4 Jonathan
A5 Left Alone
B1 Werewolf
B2 Periphery
B3 Regret
B4 Anything We Want
B5 Hot Knife
Harmony Vocals [High Harmony] – Maude MaggartTimpani [Tympani] – Feedy

Companies, etc.


  • Acoustic Bass, Guitar [Harmony Guitar]Sebastian Steinberg
  • Art Direction, DesignEric Roinestad
  • Artwork [All Artwork]Fiona Apple
  • Kora [Cora], Autoharp, Other [Truck Stomper], Other [Dance Partner], Percussion, Guitar [Guichar], Bouzouki, Marimba, Drums [Drum Set], Strings [Voice Strings], Recorded By [Field Recordist], Other [Pillow], Voice [Voice Of Pain], Baritone Vocals, Harp [String Harp], Guitar [Teisco Guitar], Other [Feedy's Brother], ProducerSeedy (2)
  • ManagementAndrew Slater
  • Mastered ByDan Gerbarg, Howie Weinberg
  • Mixed ByDave Way
  • ProducerCharley Drayton, Fiona Apple
  • Recorded ByEdison Sainsbury*, John Would
  • Recorded By [Field Recordist], Loops [Loop Maker\Performer], Other [Truck Stomper], Other [Dance Partner], Percussion, Piano, Celesta [Celeste], Strings [Voice Strings], Vocals [Singer], Keyboards [Bass Keyboard], ProducerFeedy
  • Words By, Music ByFiona Apple


VMP Exclusive Vinyl Edition
- First official vinyl reissue
- 180g black vinyl
- Heavyweight tip-on jacket with spot gloss

180 gram LP comes in a printed inner sleeve.

Recorded by John Would at Stanley Recordings Venice, Los Feliz CA.
Edison Sainsbury - NBB Studio - NYC -

Mixed [...] @ Way Station - CA.

Management for Slater Entertainment

All songs published by FHW Music (ASCAP)

? 2012, 2019 & ? 2012 Epic Records, A Division of Sony Music Entertainment / Manufactured for Vinyl Me, Please by Sony Music Entertainment / 25 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10010-8601

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped): SIDE A: 19075939571-A 187077E1/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped): SIDE B: 19075939571-B 187077E2/A
  • Rights Society: ASCAP


Reviews Show All 9 Reviews

Add Review



January 24, 2020
I’m disappointed this re-issue didn’t include a lyric sheet (like in this CD release ). Fiona’s lyrics are an integral part of this album.


January 22, 2020
The album is again available on VMP. I just bought it for 30 usd :)


December 27, 2019
Pressing is excellent if a little muddled on Side A. Fiona's voice really is the heart of this record and that comes to the fore on Side B - not sure if this is a pressing. or mixing issue for the album in general.

Nonetheless, happy to finally own this on vinyl. Have Tidal on its way and (hopefully) When the Pawn... will be announced in the new year...


December 19, 2019
This is a reissue, and still available from the vinylmeplease website, so no need to pay the ridiculous scumbag flipper prices. 30RecordsLLC, we know who you are.


December 18, 2019
is this a remaster or just a repress? all the engineering job seems to be done by the same as the original pressing engineers. can anyone confirm the matrix #? Original has 88691 978 631-A WG/NRP ? for A and 88691 978 631-B WG/NRP ? for B side.